Experience where the past meets the present...
Kalamunda is situated approximately 25km inland from Perth, Western Australia in the Darling Ranges. The district evolved from the timber and orchard industries and became a popular holiday venue for the people of Perth and Fremantle. The name Kalamunda derives from the Aboriginal 'Cala', meaning bush, and 'Munnda', meaning hearth.
The Kalamunda and Districts Historical Society manages the largest local history museum in Western Australia, depicting the unique hills life and industries centred around the development of the Kalamunda area. The Kalamunda History Village and Stirk Cottage are situated in pleasant surroundings close to the centre of the Kalamunda town site.
The Kalamunda and Districts Historical Society was formed in 1969 to promote interest in the local history of the Shire of Kalamunda. The Society holds monthly meetings, activities and visits throughout the year for its members. A bimonthly bulletin is published to keep members informed of the latest news of the museums, members and interesting stories of Kalamunda's history.
Kalamunda History Village
IMPORTANT NOTICE 11/1/2021
Kalamunda History Village is currently closed due to a fallen tree which has impacted the Post Office. Works will be undertaken this week to assess the damage. The City of Kalamunda will provide a further update when more details are known
Kalamunda Heritage Walk Trails
Explore the fascinating history of Kalamunda through the photographs and memories of people who lived and worked in this area. These leisurely walks through the Kalamunda town centre, focus on significant sites and their hidden histories. Take a step back in time, look at historic photographs, and listen to the voices of former residents, workers and visitors. See the way the area has changed over time, and perhaps revisit your own memories of Kalamunda!
Visit Kalamunda’s first heritage listed cottage, with its distinct architecture & household goods made from recycled materials. This 1881 hand-built cottage was the family home of early hills settlers Frederick and Elizabeth Stirk, and their nine children.